Roles and permissions

Redocly allows customers to customize access for their organization users (known as People in Redocly) with granular permission levels.

You can set roles at two levels in Redocly:

  • Organization: When you sign up for a plan with Redocly, you create an organization to access our products via the Workflows app.
  • Project: A project refers to any API definitions/registries, API versions, Reference docs or Developer portal you create using the Workflows app.

Each user may have several organization-level roles (one per organization) and several project-level roles (one per project within an organization).

Organization-level roles

Using Workflows, administrators can set these roles at the organization level:

  • Owner: Has permission to do everything, including, inviting people, changing access controls for other members, and closing the organization's account.
  • Member - Has permission to create new APIs, versions, Reference docs, and Developer portal, but is not allowed to change access controls, invite people or manage other organization settings.
  • Participant - Has permission to read the docs, and has restricted access to the Workflows app.
info

If you are familiar with our roles from previous iterations, "Documentation reader" is now called "Participant".

Organization-level permissions

Here is a table highlighting the permissions for these roles at the organization level.

Permission Owner Member Participant
People and Org settings
Has access to organization settings ✔️
Can invite other people (members) to the organization ✔️
Can change people (member) roles ✔️
Can see other members in the People list ✔️ ✔️
Can see Member invites ✔️ ✔️
Can create new projects ✔️ ✔️

Project-level roles

Using the Workflows app, people can be assigned roles at a project level:

  • Admin: Has permission to do everything across projects they have created, but have limited access to features across other projects where they may just have a Maintain role assigned.
  • Maintain - Has permission to create new APIs, versions, Reference docs, and Developer portal, but is not allowed to change project settings.
  • Triage - Has permission to access logs, but is not allowed to change project settings.
  • Read - Has restricted access to projects.

Depending on your role within a project, you have access to specific features in the Workflows app. This is indicated by the Admin, Maintain, Triage, or the Read labels displayed on the Projects list.

Project role labels

Project-level permissions

Permission Admin Maintain Triage Read
API Registry
Add new API ✔️ ✔️
Add new API version ✔️ ✔️
Edit API ✔️
Manage individual API settings ✔️
Manage API labels ✔️
View logs ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Rebuild from branch ✔️ ✔️
Edit source ✔️
Reference docs
Add new Reference docs ✔️ ✔️
Manage Reference docs settings ✔️
View production level build ✔️
View preview build ✔️
View logs ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Developer portal
Add new Developer portal ✔️ ✔️
Manage Developer portal settings ✔️
Rebuild from branch ✔️ ✔️
View preview build ✔️
Edit source ✔️
View builds ✔️ ✔️ ✔️

Mapping organization to project levels

Organization level role Default project level role
Owner Admin
Member Maintain
Participant Read
  • An organization Owner is considered to have the Admin role for every project.
  • An organization Member is considered to have the Maintain role for every project. If an organization Member creates a new project, they will be assigned an Admin role for that project.
  • An organization Participant is considered to have a Read role for every project.