Managing access to projects

Depending on your plan (and role, people with the Owner role for an organization (or Admin role on a project) can control who has what access to projects (Reference docs or Developer portals).

A project refers to any API definitions/registries, API versions, Reference docs or Developer portal you create using Workflows.

For more information, refer to the Project-level roles topic.

Viewing current project access for Reference docs

  1. In Redocly Workflows, select Reference docs. Ref docs list
  2. From the Reference docs page, select the Reference docs for which you want to manage access. Ref docs overview The selected Reference docs details display.
  3. Select the Settings tab to view the settings for the Reference docs.
  4. From the left menu, select Manage access to view the current project access. Reference docs - Manage access

The Manage Access page displays the following information:

  • Docs access: Displays the current access assigned for Production and Preview docs. To manage docs access, you can select Manage, which will allow you to set access controls on preview and production builds. For more information, refer to the Manage access to docs topic.
  • Base role: You can set base permissions that apply to all members of an organization when accessing any of the organization's projects. By default, members of an organization will have Maintain permissions to the organization's projects. To change the base role assigned to members, select Manage.
  • Direct access: Displays who outside your organization has access to your projects. You can invite a member (not currently part of your organization) to collaborate on your projects.
  • Manage direct access: You can use this section to select, remove or edit collaborators or teams for the selected project.

Viewing current project access for Developer portals

  1. In Redocly Workflows, select Portals. Portals list
  2. Select the Portal for which you want to set up access control. The Overview page is displayed. Portals overview
  3. Select Settings to view the Portal settings.
  4. On the Settings page, from the left, select Manage access. Developer portal - Manage access

The Manage Access page displays the following information:

  • Docs access: Displays the current access assigned for Production and Preview docs. To manage docs access, you can select Manage, which will allow you to set access controls on preview and production builds. For more information, refer to the Manage access to docs topic.
  • Base role: You can set base permissions that apply to all members of an organization when accessing any of the organization's projects. By default, members of an organization will have Maintain permissions to the organization's projects. To change the base role assigned to members, select Manage.
  • Direct access: Displays who outside your organization has access to your projects. You can invite a member (not currently part of your organization) to collaborate on your projects.
  • Manage direct access: You can use this section to select, remove or edit collaborators or teams for the selected project.

Managing collaborators

People with the Owner role for an organization (or Admin role on a project) can add outside collaborators to a project, unless an organization Owner has restricted the ability to invite collaborators. For more information, refer to the Roles and permissions topic.

When you select a collaborator or a team, they will get direct access to the selected project (either Reference docs or Developer portal).

info

When you select a team for collaboration, all users that are part of the team will automatically become collaborators on the selected project unless they have a lower role such as Read or Triage. A person's base role overrides any team roles.

The following instructions apply to both Reference docs and Developer portals.

  1. Under the Manage access section, select Select a Collaborator/Team. Select a collaborator
  2. From the dropdown, search by name or email to select a collaborator/team.

    info

    If a member or team does not display in the dropdown, you can add a new member or team from this dialog. You will be redirected to the Users or Teams page as selected.

  3. Select the project-level role you want to assign to the collaborator/team, and select Save. Select a collaborator role

For more information, refer to our Project-level roles topic.

  • The member details are now displayed in the Manage access section.
  • The Direct access tile is updated to display the number of people who have direct access to the selected project. Updated collaborator details

Adding a collaborator not currently in your organization

If you want to add a collaborator who is not currently a part of your organization, you will need to add/invite a new member to your organization. Once they have accepted your invitation and logged in using the invitation link, you can add them as a collaborator, and assign them a relevant project-level role.

To invite a new member to your organization, see the Managing access to Workflows topic.

Updating collaborator role

People with the Owner role for an organization (or Admin role on a project) can update a collaborator's role on a project in the Manage access section.

Under the Manage direct access section, select the collaborator whose role you want to update, and under Role, select the role you want to assign to the collaborator. Update collaborator role The collaborator role and permissions are immediately updated for the selected project.

Deleting collaborators from projects

People with the Owner role for an organization (or Admin role on a project) can delete collaborators to a project in the Manage access section.

  1. Under the Manage direct access section, select the collaborator you want to delete, and select the Delete icon. A confirmation dialog displays.
  2. In the Remove collaborator dialog, select Delete.

    • The collaborator details are removed from the Manage access section.
    • The Direct access tile is updated to display the number of people who have direct access to the version project.